Insurance costs seem to just keep inching their way higher and higher, even if you haven’t had any accidents or claims. Legally it is mandatory to carry a certain amount of insurance just to drive on the streets and highways where you live. But there is some good news, though; here are some discounts available to drivers in North Carolina that you may not even be aware of. Be sure to check with your insurance carrier to see if they include any of the following savings.
Combining Your Policies
The term is bundling and all it really means is combining all of your insurance policies and bringing them to the same company. If you have one or more of the following types of coverage you may want to link them to your current car insurance: life, health, homeowners, rental and property insurance. The best part is having everything under one roof makes it easier for you as well.
The definition of a safe driver varies from company to company so you should check with your carrier to see what their requirements are. Generally in order to be considered a safe driver you must have a clean driving record for at least three years to get some kind of a discount. The amount of the discount increases every additional year that you go without getting a ticket or causing an accident. You could possibly save anywhere from 10% to 20% just for obeying the traffic and driving laws in North Carolina.
Besides making their parents proud, smart kids may qualify for a good student discount. Generally you must be between the ages of 16 and 24, a full time student – high school or college – and maintain a minimum of a B average, a 3.0 grade point average or be on the Dean’s List or the Honor Roll. Check with your carrier to see if they offer this discount.
Safety and Anti Theft Devices
You could save some money on your comprehensive coverage if you have the proper safety and or anti theft devices on your vehicle. Many companies consider the addition of any of the following devices as a reduction in risk: an alarm system, a LoJack Stolen Vehicle Recovery System, a steering wheel bar, fuel ignition shut off devices or window sketching (VIN number is etched into the front windshield preventing thieves from altering the number).
Check with your insurance carrier to see if they offer any discounts to drivers who are 50 years of age or older. You may get a small discount –around 5% – off your personal injury protection coverage if you are 65 years of age or older. Some companies require their mature drivers to take a driving course and give a discount upon completion of the class. Others give discounts to older drivers who are retired as they don’t spend as much time on the road and are considered less of a risk.
Always check with your insurance agent to see if there are any discounts available for you and your family members. And always update your information every time you renew your policy.